Kilo, Mega, Giga….

Kilo-bytes are history, mega-bytes on the way out the door, we’re all used to giga-bytes, and getting used to tera-byte hard drives. Numbers of internet speed are lagging somewhat when it comes to these labels. But I just read the following: “…With 210 Gigabit/s of Internet connectivity and 4.5 Petabytes of storage…”. It half took my breath, half had me scratching my head. What comes after peta ???

Epilogue: No worries, according to wikipedia.org, exa, zetta, and yotta will cover us up to 1024. I guess my son will one day use hard disks with yotta-byte capacity.

Leave a Reply

