Cultural Learnings of America

I watch movies almost exclusively via Netflix. When a movie comes out and gets good reviews, I drop it in the queue, and then – depending on the speed of my viewing – it slowly makes it way up to slot #1. This can take a year or longer. That’s why it took me till last weekend to watch “Borat”.

When it came out, my first impression was it had to be terrible. But then I listened to an interview with Sacha Baron Cohen on NPR (Fresh Air), and decided this might be kinda funny. And it was! Ranging from the ridiculously absurd to the insanely obscene, this was one of the funniest things I have watched in a long time, making any bad-taste SNL skit look like child’s play. This one’s not for the faint hearted. If you have a high tolerance for bad taste and a good sense of humor, you don’t want to miss this “documentary”.

Leave a Reply

