Backyard Vacation

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you might have wondered what happened to the week in Colorado I’d been looking forward to. Well, it got cancelled. Since it involved 2 long travel days and a week above 10,000 ft, my pregnant wife (did I mention we’re having another one?) bailed on me, which is quite alright.

So instead of sitting in the hammock on the porch of a mountain cabin watching the clouds roll by and reading through the stack of books I had already selected, I stayed in town, worked for three days, then spent a whole day blowing insulation into the attic – which involved recruiting my pregnant wife and nearly killed both of us. It was a super hot day and a nasty, dusty job. I have never been as hot & dehydrated before as after 6 hours of 150 Fahrenheit in the attic. But now, there is a nice 6-inch layer of insulation on the floor (substantially more than before), and I will install some kind of fan in the gable to move the hot air through the attic.

Next, I tore down a metal shed in the backyard that had been there when we bought the house. Not only was it ugly and flimsy and too low-ceilinged to be practical in any way, it was also located in the worst possible spot on our lot and spoiled the view from the back windows. It had to go, and I enjoyed tearing it to pieces. Just as I began wondering what to do with the huge pile of crumpled sheet metal, a friendly Hispanic man stopped his pick-up in front of our house to scavenge my recycling bins which were filled with 50 feet of old AC ducts I had ripped out of the attic and replaced. Imagine my excitement when I told him about the pile of metal behind the house. The next day he returned with an empty vehicle and together we loaded up all the metal.

I have no idea what this scrap may fetch on the market – $5 ? – $10 ? I don’t care. It’s the fact that someone is doing it. Which brings me back to a point in my last post. Yes, high metal prices are making things more expensive. But at the same time, they are making recycling more of a viable option, and that’s fantastic. I’ll gladly “suffer” from high prices if that means change in the long run. It’s ridiculous what all we’re dumping into our landfills, not even the toxic stuff but the stuff that could still be used or at least recycled. So, here’s a guy who makes part of his living scavenging for recyclables and turning a profit. Just like our forefathers. The past is the future.

Leave a Reply

