Michael Bloomberg – The Candidate that Wasn’t

From Meet the Press (9/21/2008):

MR. BROKAW: We want to share with our audience what you had to say about society in general, not just Wall Street. This comes from the Daily News. “`An “I want it now” society that refuses to live within its means, that’s partly responsible for the subprime-mortgage crisis,’ Mayor Bloomberg said.

“`I think you can’t blame just the banks,’ he said, taking borrowers to task.

“`They say, “I want the great American dream, I want it now, and I’m not going to wait until I put some money in the bank.” That’s where we lost the moral compass of saying no to people who did not have the earning capacity to support a mortgage.’”

Wow !

Leave a Reply

